Mesa: An agent-based modeling framework in Python 3

Mesa is an agent-based modeling framework in Python 3. It was created in 2014 to make building agent-based models in Python easier, but also to seed an ecosystem of reproducibility. The framework provides building blocks both on the front-end and back-end for you to build a model easily. The architecture focuses on being decoupled and extensible, and the creators encourage you to share model components to push the domain of agent-based modeling forward.

Example model: https://github.com/projectmesa/mesa/tree/master/examples/Schelling

2 Likes

Thanks Jackie. This is an interesting presentation. I am not a Python programmer but I understand that Python i more suitable compared to other languages used by ABMers, to run the model in the browser and to containerize models. As such Mesa might be the platform for the future of ABM ;-).
I am poking some comses members who have used python for ABM to see what they think about Mesa (@jma @acardona @furtadobb @azvoleff).

3 Likes

This has convinced me that I need to get Python 3 and try this out in the near future. As one of the GRASS GIS dev team members, this looks like it has a lot of potential for integration with the powerful geospatial tools of GRASS–and much of GRASS uses Python. I encourage you to take a look at this and let me know if you have questions about GRASS. Michael Barton

@cmbarton, awesome to hear that! I have seen GRASS before, but I have never played around with it. The only GIS integration that has been done with Mesa is mesa-geo (https://github.com/Corvince/mesa-geo). There is no geo-pandas integration, but a few folks have been talking about getting geo-pandas integrated into that as well. Let me know if you do anything with GRASS and Mesa.

Thanks @Macrojanssen!

Dear Jackie,
Thank you for your clear talk. I like the idea of reusability.